# CRITICAL THEORY, DESIGNATED EMPHASIS

#### College of Letters & Science

Kathleen Frederickson, Ph.D., Chairperson of the Program

#### **Program Office**

207 Sproul Hall; Critical Theory (http://crittheory.ucdavis.edu)

### **Committee in Charge**

Executive Committee (https://crittheory.ucdavis.edu/people/); Faculty (http://crittheory.ucdavis.edu/people/)

## **Graduate Study**

The program in Critical Theory offers study and research leading to the Ph.D. with a designated emphasis in Critical Theory. The program provides theoretical emphasis and interdisciplinary perspective to students already preparing for the Ph.D. in one of 14 participating graduate programs (Anthropology, Comparative Literature, Cultural Studies, Education, English, French, German, History, Music, Psychology, Sociology, Spanish, Study of Religion, and Performance Studies). Students complete all requirements for the Ph.D., including the dissertation, in one of the participating departments. Minimum coursework for the Critical Theory Designated Emphasis consists of four courses. The first three of these, CRI 200A, CRI 200B, and CRI 200C are taught by affiliated faculty, with CRI 200A normally being taken first. For the fourth course, students have the option of taking another section of CRI 200B or an approved course from any affiliated department.

#### **Graduate Advisor**

Consult Critical Theory Program (http://crittheory.ucdavis.edu) office.